Holiday roadtrip

Happy New year people. Last year was a great year for me. I got married and I joined the US Air Force. Great steps in the right direction. I’m forever thankful to the main guy upstairs for giving me the opportunity to emigrate to this great country.

My wife is still not here so I spent the holidays all by myself. I miss her and hope she’ll be here soon.

I got to my base and was put up in temporary lodging facility or simply the base hotel. It was comfortable and felt like home away from home.

I took a trip west to the mountains for Christmas. As you all know, I live for road trips and the area I’m in is perfect for road trips.

The mountains were great although some mountain-top roads were closed for the winter season. There hasn’t been snow yet due to the El Nino effect.

It rained heavily while I was there and didn’t get to see much on the mountains and national parks around the area. I drove back to base the following day with a promise to self to go back in the fall or summer.

I still had to get accommodation near my base. I got time off to look around. There isn’t much in my area in terms of housing. I looked at a few apartments and settled on one. Lease agreement signed and I had a place to call home.

I got about 10 days off but couldn’t travel to Houston or other too far off places. It’s referred to as a pass. It’s local leave. You can’t be more than a certain radius away as you can be recalled any time.

I still had to furnish the house. Luckily for us guys the TV is a major piece of furniture. ;)..Got cable and internet. I could now get to the rest. My civilian colleague at work had an extra bed she didn’t need and voila..I was good to go. The rest could be done in due time.

I got a couch, set up my bike on indoor trainers and there was some semblance of a guy pad. Went to Target and got me some kitchen ware, toiletries. The only thing remaining was a washer and dryer. I shopped around and boy those things are expensive. Let’s just say moving is not cheap.

I settled on a set but guess what, it was going to cost me $70 for the store to deliver. What the.. A sales lady at Sears advised me to get a U-Haul moving can for a few hours. Pick up the washer and dryer, drop it off and return the van and it wouldn’t cost me as much.

That’s what I did. It cost me $25. The apartment maintenance helped me take them upstairs and hook it up.

I hit the road afterwards and headed to Virginia Beach. Not too far from where I am.

It rained heavily and there wasn’t much to see by the time I got there. I wanted to watch some performances on the beach front for new year’s eve but it wasn’t worth it.

I got me some German beers and spent the evening in a hotel room watching TV. Apps have been my best friend on these trips. I book hotels before I hit the road and there is a tonne of great deals out there..Expedia, hotels.com.

The next day I checked out the beach and it was freezing. Didn’t spend too much time out there.

I hit the road and headed north towards Delaware. The Chesapeake Bay bridge has 2 one mile underwater tunnels on a 23 mil (37km) road over water. Advancement in technology is a great thing. It doesn’t come cheap though. It cost me $13 for using the tunnel. The scenery driving over water was breathtaking. I even saw a few ships crossing over the tunnels.

I hit Maryland stateline and was soon getting into Delaware..another new state visited..tick. I checked into Dover but it was New Year’s day and everything was closed. I drove around for a bit then headed towards Baltimore, just an hour and a half away.

Driving into Baltimore I had to go over more bridges and tunnels. They cost me $4 to use. I got to see my pal Kiki and Annie who I haven’t seen in a minute. They took me on a tour of the beautiful downtown area which happens to be the sports clothing line Under Armour headquarters. The famous John Hopkins hospital calls this city home. The ‘Wire’ was also shot in this town but I was told it’s the more dangerous part of town.

We wound down the evening with dinner at the local Hibachi buffet restaurant. Great to see my old time peoples. Thank you.

I headed down to Washington DC an hour south. I spent the night in the Arlington, Virginia neighborhood and went into downtown DC the following morning.

It was a good time to see a few places before it became crowded. It was cold too, luckily there was no snow but I checked out the Washington monument , the White House and Pennsylvania avenue. There are enough museums in that town to last a day. I’ll save that for when the missus gets here and we can sight see together.

I met my fellow Kenyan airman in Alexandria, Virginia and he took me around DC, Maryland, Virginia neighborhoods nearby. You are in and out of those states the whole time you are in the area. I topped it off plane watching at the Reagan National Airport just outside DC. I think I might just move here sometime. I loved it with all the outdoor stuff to do.

It was a great way to start the year and I look forward to going back and exploring the area with my wife when she gets here.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

