Packing time

It’s that time of the year..1st time I packing for an international flight. I put away all the suitcases and passports until now. It’s an exciting time. I’m looking forward. I’m doing a trip to Canada and guess what, American flights charge for nearly everything. Drinks, Checked-in luggage, blanket, exit row seats, front seats, early boarding..you name it they got a price for it.

Which brings another challenge. What do I pack in the carry-on luggage that I’ll be able to go through security with. Toiletries and what is in there that TSA aka airport security might toss away. The dilemma I’m in. No toothpaste, perfume, mouthwash, roll-on. Air travel can be such a pain in this country. We’ll see how that goes.

The other thing is connections, you can’t avoid them if you are looking for a cheap flight. I have quite a number of them. I don’t mind them but the hassle of going through airport security is something else.

Amazon has been my friend the last couple of weeks as I prepare for my trip. I’ve been shipping a ton of stuff for myself and returning some. That’s the good thing about America. If I don’t like a particular item I just ship it back and they give me back my money. I’ve been to the mall I couple of times to shop but it’s such a hassle with all that’s on offer and the number of stores you have to go through to get what you want. All in all not too bad of an experience.

Weight is also an issue. I have to fit everything in 2 50lbs checked-in suitcases. Not an easy task but it’s got to be done. Luckily with a portable weighing machine all that has been made easier. No guesswork as you head to the airport.

On the immigration side of things, it’s the first time I’m using my Kenyan passport since I moved here together with the green card. Will be interesting to see how that goes. I hope it won’t be too complicated especially departing and re-entering the US.

It’s an exciting time and I look forward to everything in store the next couple of weeks.

2 thoughts on “Packing time

  1. Nick

    It must be wonderful to go back to your country of birth. America is the dream land, but the place you were born always holds a dear spot in everyone’s heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

