Random musings

It’s already 11 months since I made the big move into H town. It’ll be a year next month since I moved here. I only have good things to say about the move and how far the Big guy upstairs has brought me. Giving thanks for everything as always and looking at the positives.

My current job is about to come to an end but I believe greater things are to come in future. I’m traveling to Canada next week to see my good friend and former colleague. I’ve always wanted to visit Canada but the hassle of acquiring two visas out of Nairobi was just too much for me to handle. Luckily this time round I won’t need a visa courtesy of my Green Card. I just need my passport and I’m good to go. I’m thankful for such small things. Being able to travel easily.

Houston is a huge city and it’s so easy to get lost in it. I cherish the few relationships I have with great people here, both Kenyan and American. I’m thankful for my host for showing me the way when I got here and I’m where I am because of him. I still keep in touch with friends back in Kenya but not as often as I would love to.

What scares me about Houston is the gun violence around. Road rage is real people in Houston and the greater Texas. There is at least one road rage incident involving guns. I’m very aware of the fact that it’s legal to carry guns in Texas and quite a number of people have concealed gun licenses. I take a few seconds to react to some of the crazy driving around this town. No crazy rush decisions. It’s plain dangerous.

My accent is an issue in everyday dealings with people but I just keep it real. I guess it’s hard to teach an old dog new tricks. I mean a new accent. I’m aware of it and I try to be understood when I speak. So far so good.

When I arrived here I lost my popular name and acquired an unfamiliar name. The US government doesn’t care about your second or middle name. It just takes your first and last. So now I have a new identity and there is nothing I can do about it. My middle name is dying a slow death. Not cool.

Pets are a big deal in Houston, Texas and in the US. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve seen pet spas, psychologists, vet, emergency room, mobile grooming vans and conversations with colleagues discussing their dogs or cats and how they baby sit for family and friends and they love it. No offense but in Kenya it’s also picking up quite a bit..having a pet dog. When I was growing up we had dogs but they were for security and slept outside. Had kennels and ate raw meat, bones, leftovers and such. Here they have dog bacon. You travel, your expand your horizon. I don’t think I can keep a pet due to the care involved and I’m always on the move.

Drive texting is so rampant in Houston that you have to be on the look-out for people crossing into your lane. With the crazy speeds people do here I’m amazed there are not more accidents, what with people doing 70mph and texting on the freeway..Crazy.

I’m traveling to Kenya next month. I’m excited. I’ll be there for a short time but I look forward to sharing special moments with my woman and my parents..The main reason I’m going. It’s cheap to travel to Kenya out of Houston. In low season you can easily get a ticket for a low as $740 return. All the big Middle-Eastern airlines come here..Qatar,Emirates,Turkish..and they service Nairobi too..not forgetting Air France, KLM. I’ll be riding an air-taxi service when I go home with 3 stops but who cares. I paid less than $1000 for the ticket in high season. Cool times ahead.

Obama is coming to Kenya around the same time I’ll be there. I know it’ll be crazy with all the security, mobile phone interruptions and inconveniences but home is home in good and bad times. I’m excited to see all the military hardware on display during his visit..I’m a military boy at heart.

All in all it’s been a great ride, looking forward to next chapters in my life.

God bless the hands of my labor.

3 thoughts on “Random musings

Leave a Reply

