Christmas away from home..

I’ll be spending my first Christmas away from East Africa, I’ve spent some in neighboring Tanzania some years back. This will be the first time I’m far away from family and friends in Kenya.

I made peace with it a long time ago. It’s the nature of travel and living abroad.

The weather in Houston is still nice outside. Not too cold but still hot enough to venture outside and even use air conditioning when driving. That might change in the next few weeks but for now I believe I made a good choice making Houston my home.

A pleasant surprise is I have 2 days off. I expected to be working in America on Christmas but that will not be the case, at least not at my place of work.

I’ll be spending the holidays with my Kenyan friends here in Houston. No concrete plans yet but you can bet there will be a barbeque somewhere or nyama choma as we call it. We did it over Thanksgiving and will be doing it again.

Gas or Petrol as we call it back home is really cheap right now here in Houston. I filled my car the other day with less than $35 for 16 gallons. It’s less than $2 dollars in some places. I’m not complaining at all. I’m filling up and driving around this city. Done over 1000 miles (1600Km) already in the 4 weeks I’ve had the Audi. It’s a huge city.

I’m grateful to my host for all that he’s done for me the 5 months I’ve been here and the friends I’ve made here. They’ve been my family away from home. I’m in good hands.

I look forward to 2015 and what it brings.

Happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

