Smartphone

My trusted Nokia E5 cannot continue being my primary phone. It’s lost the war. I have to admit I need a smart phone..Yes, I said it. It is working fine, it’s got data, I don’t mind it’s small screen but it’s time in America has come to an end. I need GPS on these complicated roads, I need some apps to send money back home on M-Pesa (our trusted mobile phone money transfer system) and guess what, the Nokia with it’s Symbian OS can’t hack it. So I’m headed the android way.

There is an app called Wave for my fellow country people to use to send money to M-Pesa that’s easy, cheaper than others (Poa pay, Western Union, Money-gram) and hassle free. Can’t wait to try it out when I get the smartphone.

I shopped online for a phone and got a HTC Inspire on Amazon. They shipped it and it keeps rebooting itself. So I have to return it and get my money back…little American ways. Return your phone back in Kenya and get your money back? You must be kidding 🙂

I’m still shopping for a HTC but don’t want to be bogged down by contracts. I don’t have credit anyway in this country so it’s not that I qualify anywhere.

Until then the Nokia is still in use.

I still have temporary plates on the Audi, the dealer was supposed to get the name changed on the title but hasn’t finished doing that. The plates expire today and I have to drive all the way across town to get new temporary plates for the next 4 weeks or so. I’m not complaining too much, just saying.

IMG_1086

The 1998 Audi A4 2.8 Sedan

I ran out of fuel the other day..Yes, in America of all places to run out of fuel..maaan!!!. I’m leaving work in the morning. I try to start the car, nothing, open up the hood, disconnect and connect back the battery, nothing. My Kenyan colleague finds me in the parking garage and we check out the ignition, then he suggests maybe I’ve run out of fuel. I thinking he’s joking but on closer inspection..guess what. That’s the truth.

Off we go to the nearest gas station near work. Buy a 2 gallon jerrycan, I load it up and back to the garage parking lot. Americans make life easy for everyone. The jerrycan had a mechanism to pour in the fuel without having to buy a funnel..Let’s just say my next stop was the gas station and I filled it up as much as I could..Apparently the gauge system is faulty. It shows I still have slightly over a quarter tank left. No worries, you live and learn. My trusted mechanic is going to look at it later in the week. Until then I’m using simple maths to see where I am on the fuel. I gallon doing roughly 20 miles. I put in 13 gallons. So I’ll keep checking the mile reader until I do about 200 miles then top it up.

Life in America continues..

One thought on “Smartphone

  1. Njeege Thegere

    Ha ha. I can see you walkind down the road to the had station. sorry about that man. Life goes on. On Dec 15, 2014 6:03 PM, “GuriixUSjourney” wrote: > > Guriix posted: “My trusted Nokia E5 cannot continue being my primary phone. It’s lost the war. I have to admit I need a smart phone..Yes, I said it. It is working fine, it’s got data, I don’t mind it’s small screen but it’s time in America has come to an end. I need GPS ” >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

