Life continues..

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks, what with working 7 days a week for the last 3 weeks. I work nights so I’m not missing out on much by working whenever there is overtime on the weekends. Getting enough sleep is the issue in this country. It’s hard to sleep a good 6-8 hours a day. I sleep during the day which is already hard enough, add a few errands and I’m lucky to get 5 hours. I’m not complaining, it’s just how it is.

I’ve been making trips to the junkyard to sort out my second hand car. It’s a DIY kinda thing, so I’ve a few tools (spanner,screwdrivers) and there are a few Audi’s in there (They are categorized as Imports). You basically pay a ‘entrance’ fee of $2, go in. Find your car of choice, strip it down, whatever you can, pay as you leave (like a supermarket) and you are on your way. Believe you me if you don’t have tools you’ll find enough kind mechanics in there to help you out. I didn’t like my front seats, so I went in there and got a mechanic to help me out for a fee. Half an hour later I was carting away my 2 front seats, engine cover and a few other miscellaneous items. All for about $70.

I’ve been shopping for warm clothes too. I just can’t seem to find my style here. Either the stuff is not good enough or the good enough stuff is too expensive. I don’t want to spend $100 on a winter jacket. So I finally found out Old Navy and Target store that stock quite reasonably priced quality stuff. They are not cheap but at least it’s reasonable.

I’ve checked up on the few flying schools around where I live. I’m yet to decide how to go about it but it’s a long process but foreign-born to get Transportation Security Administration (TSA) clearances. I’ll decide in the coming months on the way forward towards my flying goal here as costs vary greatly amongst different schools.

I’m grateful for the positive experiences so far. No negative experiences so far.

Ps. I’m loving driving a manual transmission car. I still don’t buy what my friends are saying about getting over that and getting an auto..Nope.

One thought on “Life continues..

Leave a Reply

