Driver’s License nightmare over

I’m officially legal to drive alone in Texas after months of back and forth with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). I passed my driving test easily. The process of scheduling and actually getting to do one was more of a hassle than the actual test.

I had all the paperwork ready to do the test and kept time for my test. The paperwork was in order, car was inspected and I was good to go. Parallel parking was the first order of the day, no problem. Next I got on the road and drove around the neighborhood. Stop signs were the main deal. I only went through one intersection..I was so prepared but there was nothing to worry about really.

The actual license will come in the mail after a couple of weeks. Sigh..I can’t wait.

The funny thing is that I was driving a manual transmission car in Kenya but surprisingly no one wanted to even see my Kenyan driving license or know how long I’d been driving prior to coming to the US. Such is life here and people coming from some countries should be prepared to start all over again as far as driving is concerned.

The hunt for a car is on. I had seen a nice VW Golf online but the owner backed out before I could actually see it. I’m now looking forward to getting an Audi A4. I’m a sucker for German manual transmission cars so that has been my main goal as I check out cars. I don’t want to get into debt buying a car in this country so nothing fancy. Something to take me from point A to point B.

I’ve realized that without a car in this country life is very difficult. You are basically as good as grounded.

Hopefully I’ll have some wheels in a couple of days..will see.

Update..

My driving license arrived in the mail yesterday. Here is a happy camper. No more carrying an A4 size temporary permit wherever I go.

10 thoughts on “Driver’s License nightmare over

  1. USAMommy

    What does your paycheck look like? I am not asking out of greed, just want to know about how much one would earn weekly after taxes to see if I would need to supplement my income to “survive” up there. Also, on average, how much would you spend in a month?

    Reply
    1. Guriix Post author

      I haven’t gotten my first paycheck yet..expecting it soon. Will see what I can share once I have a look..Am not living on my own so I’m not sure how much I’d spend if I had to pay for everything.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

