Random updates..

I’ve been working for 3 weeks now. It’s been a learning curve of sorts..from the work place culture to challenges working the night shift. It hasn’t been easy but I’m happy to say I’m doing it a day at a time. It’s a new experience for me and hearing others tell their stories makes mine a walk in the park.

The only challenge I’m having is I still don’t have a driving license. I have a learners permit meaning I can’t drive alone. I have to be accompanied by a licensed driver at all times. I went to DMV last week, couldn’t do the driving test, was rescheduled for a couple of days later. I was there early morning after work but the testing officers rejected the registration documents I had..sigh. I’m scheduled to try again later this week. I hope it will be the last time I do the run around.

I’m still shopping for a car. I’ve been checking out Craigslist and I have a few potential cars to look out for. I’m particularly looking for a Volkswagen Golf. There aren’t too many in the greater Houston area. I settled for Volkswagen Jetta only to see their reviews sucked big time. I went to a dealer’s auction yesterday and I was overwhelmed by the cars on display. Hundreds of cars repossessed by financial institutions for failure to pay. I saw a few cars I’d be interested in. I can’t wait to drive. It’s a bit inconvenient for my host when he drops and picks me from work.

I’m still operating using my Kenyan bank card, it’s expensive to use but I hope to open an American bank account as soon as I get my first paycheck in a few days.

The weather this morning as I left work was 45F which to me doesn’t make sense. So I google and convert, it’s 7C and expected to drop. I came to Houston without any warm clothes. It’s Texas..or so I thought. I’m still in the process of stocking up on warm clothes. They don’t come cheap but what to do. Expected to get to 32 or 35 in a couple of days which is 0-2C..will see how that goes. I’m lucky as people in Northern states and Canada are already having snow, so I can’t complain.

It’s been tough but I’m still adjusting. Lowering expectations has kept me going.

2 thoughts on “Random updates..

Leave a Reply

