Working night shift

I’ve been working for about a week now. I’m still getting the hang of working in this country. It is not too bad. The biggest challenge so far has been getting rest during the day. It’s a normal thing for most people here. My body is still adjusting to that change. It’s not an easy adjustment. Luckily the job is a a Monday to Friday with occasional overtime over the weekend.

The thing that surprised me the most was the 3 breaks in an 7.5 hour shift. Two 15 minute breaks and one 30 minute ‘lunch’ break. I thought it was hilarious to have a ‘lunch’ break at 2.30 in the morning. I don’t find it funny anymore as I’m starving by that hour and need to eat something to make it through the shift. There is unlimited coffee, tea or chocolate to keep guys fresh. I had to get coffee to keep me going the first few days when I started but I’m getting the hang of it all and I don’t need coffee anymore to stay awake through the night.

I sleep as soon as I get home for 5 or 6 hours. I’m up in the afternoon and get an hour or two in just before I start my shift at 10 in the night. It’s an interesting schedule but one that is necessary.

It’s an interesting mix of cultures at work. I’ve met interesting people at work from India, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Uganda, Tanzania and of course my fellow Kenyans. We are everywhere 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

