Driving License Nightmare..

driverslicense1063011

Photo courtesy of blog.houstonpress.com

I finally have my driving permit in hand..not my license. I drove yesterday for the first time since I got here. Not too bad actually but intersections are a bit tricky but should get used to it soon.

It’s been a nightmare of sort trying to make it to the Texas Department of Public Safety, the equivalent of DMV here. Yesterday was my 4th attempt. I’d been there three times previously and for some reason everytime, I was time barred.

It’s a quite a process. On my 2nd visit, I paid $25, had my picture taken and told to try and be there 30 minutes before they close. Quite a tall order considering my host works 8-5 and the office closes at 6. Traffic sucks in the evenings. It’s about 20 minutes away from where I live.

Yesterday I barely made it. The written exam is a multiple choice taken on a touch computer. 30 questions of which you must get 21 to get a pass. I got 26. Had my driver’s permit printed and was out in 30 minutes. I’ll be back when I’m ready to take the driving test.

My pal gave me the keys immediately we got out of DPS. To say I was nervous is an understatement. Once I was behind the wheel it went ok. Keeping to the speed limits is a challenge. They keep changing and cops come of nowhere. Will practice for some time then go take the driving exam in a few.

Things are moving along a day at a time..

Leave a Reply

