Goodbyes suck..

My heart is heavy with sadness. I’ve started the farewell thee well process. Bidding farewell to colleagues, family, friends. It’s always been my weakness, saying goodbye to loved ones. I’m glad I’m not dating because that would have been painful parting ways.

I prefer low key meetings with all the above named, no big party-type thing. That’s too much attention on me and I can’t take it. So i got back on saturday, went out with my close friends. Got smashed and had a great time. Woke up with a hangover. Went out to the Nairobi national park just outside of the city for a friend’s birthday. Did a game drive and just took it all in one last time. I’ll miss the Kenya outdoors. It’s been great..gamedrives, off road car competitions, rallying, camping and just road trips around the country.

This week promises more of that. Going out, having a last drink with friends until i see them when i’ll be visiting in the near future. Most of my colleagues are out in the field, it pains me that i wont be able to see them before i fly out. I’ve sent each of them a farewell email. What else to do?

I’ll travel out of town to see my folks one more time before i check out. I care about them so much and they’ll be my motivation to make trips back as much as i can afford. So help me God.

I’m sad, anxious and happy at the same time. I can’t sleep well and I’m an emotional mess. It’s going to be a long couple of months to come..

Leave a Reply

