Galveston beach..

galveston-001

Galveston Beachline.. Photo credit: http://www.tripadvisor.com

I finally made it to the nearest beach to Houston, it’s about an hour south. Traffic wasn’t so bad this time round and we made it in good time. From the main street in Galveston it looked like it never recovered from Hurricane Katrina a decade ago. Most business on the main street were closed..until we got to the stretch of beach..Wow..packed was an understatement. The beach itself wasn’t all that but peeps got to do with what they have..nothing beats Kenyan and Zanzibar beaches. It had lots of seaweed but guys had brought out grills to do barbeque and it was a great atmosphere being out there and being near water. I forgot the heat..my,my..It was 100F/38C outside. Those guys were tanning but me thinks they were more like roasting..Lets just say we got out checked out the beach kidogo then got back into the car, drove around some more and ended up in a nice Mexican seafood restaurant..let me just say I’m hooked to shrimp wrapped in bacon..ooh!! pure bliss I tell you. The servings in this place are too big. I couldn’t get through half..but give me time. I’m working on that 🙂

There were so many hotels and furnished apartments on the coastline, so a weekend plot is not a bad idea in the future.

082320141003

Galveston beachline..

More bad food story..the next day we went to Papas Bar-B-Q. All you can eat, porkribs for $9.95..haha..This will be the death of me..I was ready to have a coupla serving but I don’t know what they put on their food man, I was full before I even finished my 1st serving of 4. I don’t know what they put in their food but I couldn’t go past 1 serving.

082320141005

Bacon wrapped shrimps..yuuummy!!!..Notice the beans.. 🙂

Oh, Mexican’s serve lots of beans with their meals..hmm..feels like I’m back in Nairobi in those chapo/madondo joints (tortilla/beans) 🙂

Papas

All you can eat porkribs..Papas Bar-b-q.. Photo credit: http://www.citysearch.com

Anywho, all that food got to go. So i’ve been running in addition to cycling. There is a park nearby where Mexicans, Caribbeans and Africans (Kenyans, Tanzanians, Cameroonians, Ghanians, Nigerians) play soccer every Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. While my pal plays soccer i run round a loooong track around and through the woods. I clocked about 9 km (endomondo.com app is so cool)..not all shrimp and porkribs burned but at least I’m trying. Hope I can keep it going. Running is not my strongest field especially after I had my knee ACL reconstruction surgery, but so far the knee is holding up very well.

meyerpathw

Myers park, Spring, Texas.. Photo credit : http://peoplesguidetohouston.wordpress.com

My paperwork is finally on the way…finally I can track it online and it’s a day away..Life is about to change forever, so let me enjoy before it does.

Later..

Leave a comment